Directory of Norfolk Island First Settlement 1788-1814

This directory of names created by University of New England (UNE) identifies most individuals associated with the ‘First Settlement’ phase of the colonial occupation of Norfolk Island and has expanded immense the number of names in identifying unique individuals compared to the different collated populations lists of the past.

University of New England This research was undertaken with support from the UNE, with some input from their students and volunteers including Hayley Odgers. The UNE Norfolk Island Directory owes much to years of granular and relatively manual research undertaken by Australian History Research including our numerous Norfolk Island 1st Settlement 1788 to 1814 publications.

A comprehensive range of primary records from all archival repositories was utilised for the creation of this directory not just the Norfolk Island Victualling books. With the evidence analysis of these original records being the source of historical informative details and data. At the same time an in-depth intra shipping lists was also collated for research and cross referencing purposes.

Using a critical and logically research approach with the more advanced technologies now available for compiling and analysing data, the UNE Norfolk Island Directory became more expansive, more granular, and precise than our predecessors.  This new Norfolk Island 1st Settlement directory is part of University of New England’s Convict History Research Collective

James Morrisby Convict HMS Sirius March 1790One is able to use the search facility to see name results with that individual’s first and last primary record which lists their name. eg James Morrisby, Convict, Scarborough 1788. arriving on Norfolk Island per HMS Sirius Mar 1790 and departed Norfolk Island for Hobart per HMS Porpoise Dec 1807.

Search the UNE Directory of Norfolk Island First Settlement 1788-1814

Australian History Research Publications

Norfolk Island History Lovers Tour

Image: James Morrisby (1757-1839), presented by The Morrisby family 1988 to the Tasmanian Museum and Art Gallery Art Collection